Club History

Tullamore Hockey Club History

Tullamore Hockey Club, the brain child of Maura Milne, Catherine Deacon and friends, was formed in September 1985, with a view to giving “a sporting and social outlet to the affiliated lady members of Tullamore Rugby Club and Friends”.  A very successful and enjoyable 25th anniversary dinner dance was held in the Tullamore Court Hotel in April of 2011 to pay tribute to both past and present members. In its commemorative 25th year in existence, the club was delighted to celebrate the promotion of its 1sts team in a highly competitive Leinster League.

The last league title came in the 2001/2002 season. Two of the current players were on that team notably; Monica Cleary and Sabrina Carroll. Since that win, Tullamore have fought consistently hard for promotion and achieved 3rd or 4th place on numerous occasions.

At Junior level, players from the ages of 10 to 18 years are catered for. Most recently, the club has drawn links with the Sacred Heart School in Tullamore and they are now competing in the Leinster Schools League. Over the years, success was aided in no mean way by the nurture and development of these younger members through the Junior Club. It is an acknowledgment of the hard work of the many Junior coaches and players through the years, that 10 players from the current 1sts team came through Tullamore’s Junior ranks.

Since its conception, Tullamore Hockey Club has also attracted players from a wide catchment area, such as Birr, Portlaoise and Mullingar. This year, Tullamore’s 1sts Team Captain Emma Delahunt hails from Birr. Another previous club player and Birr native Amanda Haslam, has received Irish Caps at under 18 level and while competing at one of these international tournaments scored a goal against England.

Tullamore’s home ground is the Tullamore Harriers where members enjoy excellent facilities which include a state of the art water based astroturf pitch. The club also has a 2nds squad and their best result – a healthy fourth position in their respective league was achieved in 2011.